Curia Bishop

To carry out the administration of the sui iuris Church, two organs get involved: the synod of bishops and the curia. After the permanent synod come the bishops of the curia in the next. The Major Archbishop can appoint a maximum of three bishops in the curia, having the title of ‘bishops of the curia’ (c. 87).

CCEO does not make a clear division of the powers or offices for the curial bishops. Curial bishops are to exercise the functions entrusted to them by the Major Archbishop. Major Archbishop cannot constitute a vicar for the entire church nor can he delegate his power to someone for all cases. But he can have different vicars for the administration of the Major Archiepiscopal Church, sharing the powers partially, either vicariously or by way of delegation. The curial bishops can discharge functions only within the territorial boundaries of the Church (c. 181 §1).

There can be a maximum of three bishops in the curia in order to help the Major Archbishop. All three bishops would have titular sees and the title of archbishop is given to the senior most bishop of the curia who could eventually be the administrator of the Church. This administrator during the period of vacancy of the See would have the powers of the Major Archbishop. When there are 3 Curial Bishops, there could be three sections functioning in the curia, with curial bishops as heads. All these sections could have a secretary, preferably a priest and if needed other officers.

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church