Changanacherry Archeparchy

Mar Joseph Perumthottam
Metropolitan Archbishop of Changanacherry

Bishop Emeritus /Former Bishop or Aux.Bp

Mar Joseph Powathil
Metropolitan Emeritus of Changanacherry

Deceased Bishops

Mar Mathew Kavukatt
Metropolitan of Changanacherry (1956 - 1969)
Mar James Kalassery
Bishop of Changanacherry (1927 - 1949)
Mar Thomas Kurialassery
Bishop of Changanacherry (1923 - 1925)


The Archeparchy of Changanacherry which comprises the civil districts of Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha and Kottayam in Kerala, is one of the four metropolitan provinces in the Syro Malabar Major Archiepiscopal Church. It is one of the first two Vicariates and the second Metropolitan Archeparchy of the Syro-Malabar Church, after the establishment of the Syro-Malabar hierarchy which was the prelude to the restoration of the identity of the Church in 1992 as Sui Iuris Church. Pope Leo XIII by his Bull ?Quod Jam Pridem? dated May 20, 1887 established two Vicariates Apostolic - Kottayam and Thrissur- exclusively for the Syro-Malabarians. The Vicariate of Kottayam was renamed Changanacherry, since this town had been the centre of Catholic activity and hence its headquarters had been shifted to Changanacherry in 1891. The Vicariate of Changanacherry together with others was raised to the status of an Eparchy in 1923 and an Archeparchy in 1956. The Eparchy of Changanacherry was bifurcated into three eparchies ie. Palai, Kanjirappally and Thakalai in course of her advancement. In 1975 the missionary work of three (now five) civil districts inside the territory of the Archdiocese of Agra in the State of Uttar Pradesh was taken up completely by the Archeparchy of Changanacherry. The eminent spiritual leaderships of Most Rev Dr Charles Lavigne, Mar Mathew Makkil, Venerable Mar Thomas Kurialachery, Mar James Kalachery, Servant of God Mar Mathew Kavukattu, Mar Antony Padiyara and Mar Joseph Powathil had made remarkable contributions in the spiritual, social and cultural milieu of the Archeparchy. Now the Archeparchy, headed by Mar Joseph Perumthottam, shares the joy of the jubilee year (125) of the establishment of its Vicariate.

Dioceses At a Glance

Patron St. Joseph
Date of Erection 20 May 1887 ( kattayam vicariate)
Archbishop Mar. Joseph Perumthottam
Date of Birth 05 July 1948
Date of ordination 18 December 1974
Date of Episcopal Ordination 20 May 2002
Enthronement as Archbishop 19 March 2007
Email of the Bishop
Address of the Eparchy

Archbishop's house

P.B NO. 12Chenganacherry 686101




Fax 0481-2422540, 2427372
E-mail of the Diocese

Fr. Mathew vellenickal

Fr. James Palackal

Fr. John V Thadathil

Procurator Fr. mathew ordalany
Chancellor Fr.Tom Puthankalam
Statistics ?
Area Civil district of kottayam, Alappuzha, Pthanamthitta, Kollam and Thiruvanandapuram
Language Malayalam

Total Population

Catholic population 380000
Parishes and Stations 278
Mission centres Etawah Mission
Home mission TVM, Amboory, Kollam
Diocesan Priest 426
Religious Priests working in the Eparchy 31
Religious Brothers working in the Eparchy 05
Major seminarians 97
Minor Seminarians 90
Women Relegious working in the Eparchy 1052
Women Relegious Houses 322
Men Relegious Houses (Priest + Brother) 62
Minor seminaries 02
Higher secondary school 18
High Schools 24
Primary School 92
Dispensaries 04
Kinder gardens 156
Nursing college 01
Hospitals 02
Civil Servies center 01
Entrance Coaching Center 01
Retreate center 02
Institute for Home science 01
Communication center 01
Retreat centers 01
Hostels 12
orphanages 02
Publications 11


Archbishop's House, P B No. 20, Changanacherry
Phone : 0482-2420040, 2421162, 2420379
Fax      : 0482-2422540
Web    :
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church