Tellicherry Archeparchy

Mar Joseph Pamplany
Metropolitan Archbishop of Tellicherry

Bishop Emeritus /Former Bishop or Aux.Bp

Mar George Njaralakatt
Bishop Emeritus
Mar George Valiamattam
Archbishop Emeritus

Deceased Bishops

Mar Sebastian Vallopily
Bishop Emeritus - Tellicherry (1955-1989)


The eparchy of Tellicherry, erected by the Bull ?Ad Christi Ecclesiam Regendam? dated 31 December 1953 of His Holiness Pope Pius XII of happy memory, as a suffragan of the Archeparchy of Ernakulam, is for the Catholics of the Syro-Malabar Church who migrated to Malabar from the old Syro-Malabar eparchy of erstwhile Travancore and Cochin States. The boundaries of the new eparchy were the same as those of the Latin Diocese of Calicut. But later, as Catholics of Syro-Malabar Church migrated even to the states of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu, the boundaries were extended to the present Latin dioceses of Mangalore, Chickmagalur, Mysore, Shimoga and Ootacamund by a decree of the Holy See dated 29th April, 1955. The Archeparchy is bifurcated in to Mananthavady, Belthangady, Thamarassery, Bhadravathi & Mandya. It is spread around 4902 sq. km. within the civil districts of Kannur & Kasargod.

Mar Sebastian Valloppally is the first bishop of Tellicherry. Mar George Valiyamattam succeeded him to be the second bishop of Tellicherry. Mar George Njaralakkatt, the bishop of Mandya was elected to be the Archbishop of Tellicherry on 29 August 2014. He was consecrated and installed on 30 October 2014 as the third bishop of Tellicherry.

Dioceses At a Glance

Sunday: - -
Weekdays: - -


Archbishop's House, P.O Box No. 70, Tellicherry.
Phone : 0490-2344977, 2341058
Fax      : 0490- 2341412
Web    :
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church