Satna Eparchy

Bishop Emeritus /Former Bishop or Aux.Bp

Mar Mathew Vaniakizhakkel
Bishop of Satna
Mar Abraham D. Mattam
Bishop Emeritus of Satna


The Eparchy of Satna which is spread out in the northern part of Madhyapradesh belongs to the Syro-Malabar Church. It was made Suffragan ad Instar to the ecclesiastical Province of Bhopal in 1968. The Eparchy of Satna, which comprises seven civil districts of Madhyapradesh, namely, Satna, Chhatarpur, Panna, Rewa, Sidhi, Singrauli and Tikamgarh (45,188 sq. kms) with the total population of 1,11,20,815 was bifurcated from the diocese of Jabalpur. It was erected exarchy and entrusted to the Vincentian Congregation by the Holy See on 29 July, 1968 by the Papal Bull ?In More Est? of Pope Paul VI. Msgr Abraham D. Mattam of Vincentian Congregation was nominated its first Apostolic Exarch on 15 August, 1968. The Exarchy was raised to the rank of an Eparchy on 12 March, 1977 by the Papal Bull ?Ecclesiarum Orientalium? of Pope Paul VI and Mar Abraham D. Mattam was appointed the first Eparch of Satna. He was consecrated Eparch on 30 April, 1977. The installation and erection of the Eparchy took place on 31 July, 1977. After his retirement Mar Mathew Vaniakizhakkel VC was appointed the second Eparch of Satna on 14 January, 2000, consecrated and installed Eparch of the Eparchy on 12 April, 2000.

Mar Mathew Vaniyakizhakkel took a voluntary retirement on 27 August 2014. Fr George Mangalapilly was appointed the Administrator of Satna Diocese on 2 September 2014. After a gap of one year Fr Joseph Kodakallil was appointed as the Bishop of Satna on 22 July 2015. He was consecrated and installed the third bishop of Satna diocese on 15 September 2015.

Dioceses At a Glance

Sunday: - -
Weekdays: - -


Bishop's House,
P.O Box No. 22, Satna, M.P
Phone : 07672-225506, 224167, 404443
Fax      : 07672-225667
Web    : 
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church