Sagar Eparchy

Bishop Emeritus /Former Bishop or Aux.Bp

Mar Joseph Pastor Neelankavil
Bishop Emeritus of Sagar

Deceased Bishops

Mar Clemens Thottungal CMI
Bishop of Sagar (1977 - 1987)


The eparchy of Sagar was erected as an Apostolic Exarchate by the bull ?Quo Aptius? dated July 29, 1968, cutting out from the Archeparchy of Bhopal the civil?districts?of Sagar, Raisen and Vidisha. Again at the request of?the Bishop?of Ajmer-Jaipur, the?district?of Guna was added to the Exarchate of Sagar by the decree of ?De Bono Animarum? on 2nd?April, 1973. The civil?district?of Guna was further bifurcated on August 15, 2003 to form the?district?of Ashoknagar. At present, eparchy of Sagar consists of five civil districts?in?Madhya Pradesh, namely Sagar, Raisen, Vidisha, Guna and Ashoknagar. The Holy See by its decree ?Divina Verba? on 26th?February 1977 raised the Apostolic Exacrchate to the Status of a proper eparchy. Bp. Clemens Thottungal CMI was the first bishop of the eparchy. Bp. Joseph Pastor Neelankavil CMI succeeded him as second bishop of the eparchy. After his?retirement?in?the year?2006, Bishop Anthony Chirayath is?the Bishop?of the eparchy.

Dioceses At a Glance

Sundays: - -
Weekdays: - -


Bishop's House,
P.B. No.32, Sagar Cantt, M.P.
Phone : 07582-222633, Personal: 325851
Fax      : 07582-222175
Web    :
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church