Palghat Eparchy

Mar Jacob Manathodath
Bishop of Palaghat

Bishop Emeritus /Former Bishop or Aux.Bp

Mar Peter Kochupurackal
Auxiliary Bishop

Deceased Bishops

Mar Joseph Irimpan
Bishop of Palghat (1974 - 1994)


covers an area of 4480 km and comprises the civil district of Palakkad in Kerala. It has 56,668 faithful, 125 priests incardinated to it and 87 parishes and 36 stations. The Lord has done great things for the people of God of this area through the pioneering and missionary work of the priests, sisters and the laity under the leadership of Mar Joseph Irimpen. After twenty years of service Bishop Irimpen retired from office on December 6, 1994. Msgr. Joseph Veliyathil served the Eparchy as its Administrator from December 6, 1994 to February 1, 1997. Pope John Paul II nominated Bishop Jacob Manathodath, the then Auxiliary Bishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly as the Bishop of Palghat on November 11, 1996. Bishop Manathodath took canonical possession of the eparchy on February 1, 1997.

Dioceses At a Glance

Sundays: 5.45 am, 7.00 am & 9.15 am
Wednesdays & First Fridays : 6. 00 am. & 6. 00 pm
Saturdays : 5.45 am & 6. 30 am
Weekdays: 5.45 am & 6.45 am


Bishop's House,
P.B. No. 4, Noorani P.O, Palakkad.
Phone : 0491-2526583, 2515277
Fax      : 0491-2525129
Web    :
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church