Ernakulam - Angamaly Archeparchy

Mar George Cardinal Alencherry
Major Archbishop of Syro-Malabar Church
Mar Sebastian Adayanthrath
Auxiliary Bishop of Ernakulam
Mar Jose Puthenveettil
Auxiliary Bishop & Syncellus

Bishop Emeritus

Mar Thomas Chakiath
Emeritus Auxiliary Bishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly

Deceased Bishops

Mar Varkey Cardinal Vithayathil C Ss.R.
Major Archbishop of Ernakulam Angamaly (December 1999 to April 2011)
Cardinal Antony Padiyara
First Major Archbishop - 16 Dec. 1992 - 18 Dec. 1996
Archbishop Mar Abraham Kattumana
Pontifical Delegate - 16 Dec. 1992 - 4 April 1995
Mar Joseph Cardinal Parecattil
Metropolitan of Ernakulam (1956 -1984)
Mar Augustine Kandathil
Metropolitan of Ernakulam (1923 - 1956)
Mar Aloysius Pazheparampil
Vicar Apostolic of Ernakulam (1896 - 1919)


The Archdiocese of Ernakulam-Angamaly was established a Vicariate by the Bull ?Quae Rei Sacrae? of Pope Leo XIII on 28 July 1896. Mar Aloysius Pazheparambil was appointed as the first Vicar Apostolic, who assumed charge on 5th November 1896. City of Ernakulam was chosen to be the location for the Bishop?s House which was completed and blessed on 24 April 1900. As the Syro-Malabar Hierarchy was established on 21 December 1923, by the Bull ?Romani Pontifices? of Pope Pius XI, Ernakulam was raised to the status of an archdiocese and was made the centre of the Syro-Malabar Church. On 20 July 1956, Mar Joseph Parecattil became the Archbishop of Ernakulam. Mar Antony Padiyara was appointed as the Archbishop of Ernakulam on 18 May 1985 and he took charge on 3 July 1985. A greater landmark in the history of the St Thomas Christians and especially in the history of the Archdiocese of Ernakulam was on 16th December 1992 when the Syro-Malabar Church was declared a Major Archiepiscopal Church ?Sui Iuris? with the title of Ernakulam-Angamaly, by Pope John Paul II. The Holy See thus recognized the legitimate right of the Syro-Malabar Church. It also took into account the pre-eminence of the Archdiocese of Ernakulam by making it the See of the Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church. Thereby the Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church is also the Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly.

Mar Varkey Vithayathil C.Ss.R. was nominated titular Bishop of ?Antinoe? and the Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese and was Consecrated Archbishop by Holy Father Pope John Paul II on 6th January 1997. His Grace Archbishop Varkey Vithayathil assumed charge of the archdiocese the Apostolic Administrator. On 23rd December 1999 Holy Father Pope John Paul II appointed Mar Varkey Vithayathil the Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church and as the Archbishop of Ernakulam - Angamaly.

His enthronement as the Major Archbishop took place at St Mary?s Basilica, Ernakulam on 26th January 2000. His Beatitude Mar George Alencherry was elected the Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church and the Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly during the synod convened on 23-26 May 2011.

Dioceses At a Glance

Patron Sacred Heart
Date of Erection 28 July 1896
Archbishop Mar George Cardinal Alencherry
Date of Birth 19 april 1945
Date of ordination 18 December 1972
Date of Episcopal Ordination 02 February 1977
Made Cardinal 18 may 2011
Email of Archbishop
The Auxilary Bishop(1) Mar Thomas Chakiath
Date of Birth 10 September 1937
Date of ordination 30 November 1964
Date of Episcopal Ordination 14 April 1798
? Email of the Auxilary Bishop
The Auxilary Bishop(2) Mar Sebastian Adayanthrath
Date of Birth 23 November 1957
Date of ordination 18 December 1983
Date of Episcopal Ordination 20 April 2002
Email of the Auxilary Bishop
Address of Eparchy

Major Archbishop's House


P B No. 2580, kohi 682031, kerala, india


0484- 2352629,2363664,


Fax. 0484-2355010,2366028
E-mail of the Diocese
Protosyncellus Mar Thomas Chakiath
Syncelli Mar Sebastian Adayanthrath Fr.Jose Puthenveettil
Procurator Fr. Mathew Manavalan
Chancellor Fr. Varghese Pottackal
Statistics ?
Area 1500 Sq. Km
Language malayalam

Total Population

Catholic population

Parishes 191
Fillial Churches 144
Diocesan Priests 440
Religious Priests working in the Eparchy 40
Major seminarians 65
Minor Seminarians 81
Women Relegious House 415
(Priest + Brother) 114
Minor seminaries 1
High Schools 8
Primary School 34
Kindergartens 45
Hospitals 10
Dispensaries 27
Nursing Colleges 3
Civil Service Centre 1
Entrance Coaching Centre 1
Retreat Centres 1
Hostels 6
Publications 6


Archbishop's House,
P B No. 2580, Ernakulam, Kochi,
Phone : 0484- 2352629, 2352906, 2363664
Fax      : 0484- 2366028, 2355010

Web    :
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Syro Malabar Live