Mandya Eparchy

Bishop Emeritus /Former Bishop or Aux.Bp

Mar Antony Kariyil CMI
Former Bishop
Mar George Njaralakatt
Former Bishop


The Diocese of Mandya was erected on 18th Jan 2010 bifurcating the Diocese of Mananthavady, Bishop George Njaralakatt as its first Bishop. And formal Inauguration of the Diocese was on 7th Apr 2010. The Diocese comprises of four civil Districts of Mysore, Chamarajnagar, Hassan and Mandya. It has an area of 24299 sq. kms and a total population of 7444730 of which 5000 are Syro Malabar Catholics.

Bishop George Njaralakkatt was elected Archbishop of Thalassey on 29 August 2014 and Fr George Alukka was appointed Administrator on 30 October 2014. After a gap of almost one year Fr Antony Kariyil CMI was appointed the second bishop of Mandya on 26 August 2015. He will be consecrated and installed on 18 October 2015.Together with his appointment Pope Francis I has extended the canonical territory of Mandya diocese to Bangalore urban, Bangalore rural, Chikballapur, Kolar, Ramnagara and Thumkur.

Dioceses At a Glance

Sundays: 7.00 am, 9.30 am
Tuesday : 4.30 pm
Other Days: 6.30 am


Bishop's House,
Jyothir Vikasa, Kalenahalli,
Mandya, Karnataka
Phone : 08232-291050, 572260
Fax      : 
Web    : 
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church