Kalyan Eparchy

Mar Thomas Elavanal
Bishop of Kalyan


Pope John Paul II created the diocese of Kalyan on 30 April 1988 by the decree ?Pro Christifidelibus?. Thus the establishment of the diocese and the appointment of the first Bishop came into effect from April 30, 1988. The new eparchy has its territory co-extensive with the territories of 5 Latin dioceses such as the Archdiocese of Bombay, the diocese of Vasai, Poona, Nashik and Sindhudurg. The Episcopal Ordination of Mar Paul Chittilapilly and the official inauguration of the eparchy took place on August 24, 1988 at the Don Bosco Grounds, Matunga, Bombay. In order to make sure of the Christians presence and service in all 15 districts of the Eparchy, 10 of them were entrusted to MST, VC, MCBS and CMI religious congregations. On May 1st, 1990 Sangli, Kolhapur, Sindhudurg, Ratnagiri districts were given to M.S.T. Congregation. On 11th September 1991, Ahmednagar district was given to Vincentian congregation. On 4th October 1992, Satara and Solapur districts were given to M.C.B.S Congregation. On 2nd February 1993, Jalgaon, Dhule and Nandurbar districts were given to C.M.I. priests.

After nine years of dedicated pioneering work in the newly born diocese, Bishop Paul Chittilapilly was transferred to the diocese of Thamarassery in Kerala on December 18, 1996 and took charge on February 13, 1997. Mar Thomas Elavanal MCBS, the second bishop of Kalyan was consecrated on February 8, 1997 at Vikhroli, Mumbai.

Dioceses At a Glance

Patron St.Thomas
Date of Erection 30 april 1988
Bishop Mar Thomas Elavanal MCBS
Date of Birth 28 March 1950
Date of ordination 22 December 1975
Date of Episcopal Ordination 08 February 1997
Email of the Bishop bpelavanal@gmail.com
Address of the Eparchy

Bishop's house

Plot No. B/38

IIT P.O, PB No.8434

Powai, Mumbai- 400076.



91- 22- 25785515/ 25782385/ 25773399/ 5780611/

25783954/ 25778061/ 22902138

Fax 691-22-25776100
E-mail of the Diocese eparchyofkalyan@gmail.com
Blog of the Bishop bpelavanal.blogspot.com
Website www.dioceseofkalyan.org
Blog of the diocese dioceseofkalyan.blogspot.com
Protosyncellus Msgr.jacob Porathur
syncelli, chavara mission Fr.Thomas kamnnanaikal CMI
syncelli, Ahmednagar mission

Fr. Sajoy Ethackatt VC

syncelli, Satara solapur mission Fr. Dominic Mundatt MCBS
syncelli, sangil mission Fr.Thomas karamel MST
Procurator Fr.Paul olickal
Chancellor Fr.Francise Eluvathingal
Statistics ?
Area 1,45,597.7sq.kms
State Maharashtra
Civil Districts Greater mumbai, Thane, Raigad, Pune, Nashik, Kolhapur, Satara, Solapur,Sangli, Sindhudurg, Rathnagiri, Dhule, Jalgaon, Nandurbar, Ahmednagar
Language Hindi, Marathi, Malayalam, English


Syro-malabar Catholic 85,000c
Mission Regions

Sangi Mission entrusted to MST,

Ahmadnagar mission entrusted to VC

Chavara mission entrusted to CMI,

Solapur -Satara mission entrusted to MCBS

Parishes and Qurbana center (total) 113
Parishes and Qurbana center in mission region 56
Priest total 178
Priest Ascribed to kalyan eparchy 64
priest from other diocese 06
Religious priests in the diocese 28
Priest in mission 80
Convents 82
Sisters 361
Seminarians Total 57
Major seminarians 35
Churches/ Prayer hall 88
Church office/ Priest's res. 58
Plots for churches 02
Pre Primary, nursery and day care 73
Catholic Elementary school 43
Catholic middle school 42
High Schools 41
Higher secondary Schools 03
college(degree and PG) 01
Professional colleges 03
Special Institution for mentally retarded 08
Hospitals/ Dispensaries/ Health care center 21
Boarding and Hostels 22
Other social charitable center 15
Seminarians 03
Other Institution 09


Bishop's House,
P.B.No. 8434, IIT P.O, Powai, Mumbai
Phone : 022-25785515, 25782385
Fax      : 022-25776100

Web    : www.dioceseofkalyan.org
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top


Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church