Mar Raphael Thattil
Appointed First Bishop


The diocese of Shamshabad was erected on 10th October 2017 by His Holiness Pope Francis. The new diocese was inagurated on 7th January 2018. Pope appointed Mar Raphael Thattil as the first bishop of Shamshabad. It is the largest diocese in India. Diocese of Shamshabad shares its boundary with 75 dioceses. The eparchy is dedicated to St. Thomas, the apostle and its co patron is St. John Paul II. Shamshabad diocese covers 23 states and 4 union territoires including 2 islands.


Eparchial Curia
St. Mary's Syro-Malabar Catholic Church,
Konda Nagar, Sy. No. 76/60-62,
Opp. Manchi School, Keshogiri P.O.,
RCI Road, Balapur - 500005, R. R. Dist.,
Phone : 08639621346
Fax      : 
Web    :
Email      :  Email Address

Back to Top

Never miss an update from Syro-Malabar Church